RSS

My Story – Part 1

29 Jun

I am sitting on the verandah of my summer house, eating the apricots I just picked from the tree in my garden and working on my laptop as squirrels climb the trees just a few meters away from me.

Three years ago today I was working for a big multinational company in London. My salary was good, I was paid bonus at the end of every year and promoted every couple of years. I was traveling to exotic places on my holidays and staying in luxury resorts . This looked like a dream job from outside and many people were looking at me with envy.

They had no idea how I was feeling inside. I was working in a stressful office environment, trying to meet the deadlines, feeling anxious as to whether our clients would accept our offer, going on exhausting business trips abroad and more or less doing the same thing everyday. I was bored. I lost my motivation and I didn’t want to go to work anymore. I hated 9 to 5 (sometimes 8 to 9) because I wanted to be able to choose my working hours.

I worked in the corporate world for 18 years and I really loved my career in the beginning. When I was studying at the university, my dream was to hold a senior position in a big company and I achieved it much quicker than I thought. But one day I realised it wasn’t what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. I didn’t want to be stuck in an office whole day every day doing the same thing. I needed to discover the work I love and then set up my own business.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 29, 2011 in My story

 

One response to “My Story – Part 1

  1. Heidelberg Kindergeburtstag

    April 15, 2013 at 10:34 am

    This piece of writing will assist the internet users for setting
    up new blog or even a blog from start to end.

     

Leave a Reply

 
