RSS

Limiting Beliefs

26 Jul

Limiting beliefs are those beliefs about ourselves that limit our abilities. They are just assumptions about reality and they are not true. They seem true because we have decided they are.

Some examples of limiting beliefs are:
“I am not good enough”
“I can never be successful”
“Noone likes me”

These limiting beliefs hold us back from success, happiness and achieving our true potential.

Most limiting beliefs are formed unconsciously. When we are young, we believe what our parents and teachers say to us. If we are constantly told that we are not good enough, we believe that and it becomes a reality for us.

The good news is that limiting beliefs can be replaced with empowering ones. If you have a limiting belief that is holding you back, write it down and answer the following questions:

1. Who gave me this belief?

2. How do I feel about the person that gave me this belief? Do I respect them? Are/were they always right? What is their history?

3. What is this belief costing me on a daily basis?

4. What will holding this belief mean for me in the long term?

5. How will my life be different if I let go of this belief?

Now write an opposite belief to the one you hold and look for evidence to support your new belief. If you cannot find any evidence at all, ask your partner, friends, children, or anyone else you know and trust. If you have a coach or a mentor, ask them. You will find the evidence and you will believe it because you now have the evidence.

Start living your life with this new belief. Do things that will make you feel more confident and proud of yourself. Keep a journal and record your success.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2011 in Limiting beliefs

 

6 responses to “Limiting Beliefs

  1. Steve Hall

    July 27, 2011 at 12:48 am

    Nice blog, congratulations

    I am simple soul. If I think I can, I can. If I think I can’t, I’ll be right on that too.

    I THOUGHT I could cycle 5,000 kms last year. I TOLD myself I could even though common sense, logic and most of my friends said “no”.

    I did it.. PERIOD

    So can you.. PERIOD

     
  2. Ebru Ulufer

    July 29, 2011 at 4:50 pm

    Thank you Steve for your comment and I would like to congratulate you once again on your huge success. Sadly, most people don’t even try to follow their dreams because of their limiting beliefs. I know that people could create outstanding achievements only if they believed in themselves, took baby steps in pursuit of their passions and asked for help from people who encouraged them.

     
  3. Lynda White, The Brenda Doll Team, Keller Williams Realty Louisville East

    August 22, 2011 at 4:20 pm

    What an inspiring post. I always seem to be on the verge of success and sabotage myself without even knowing I do it. I’m slowly learning to change, though.

    Thanks for endorsing my blogs on EAv, Ebru! I am subscribing to this blog by RSS. 🙂 -Lynda

     
  4. Yorinda

    November 28, 2011 at 9:03 am

    Hi Ebru,

    You supply some really good questions for exploring limiting beliefs.

    Exploring and reframing our beliefs can be very empowering.

    Thanks for the inspiring post.

    Love and Joy
    Yorinda

     
    • Ebru Ulufer

      December 2, 2011 at 12:25 am

      Thank you so much Yorinda for your comment.

       

Leave a Reply

 
